Anime wonderland?

Maybe. If it weren’t for the crowds.

This year has been particularly eye-opening to me, both in a cultural and geek-ish way. I went for several conventions such as EOY and STGCC. Last Saturday was my third one. And it also happens to be one of the biggest events in the community, Anime Festival Asia.

There is so much happening this year, according to others anyway. Lots of music, games, art and shopping for merchandise. Plus, there’s a cool Attack on Titan tryout booth.

They even brought in the Oculus Rift for a Sword Art Online VR experience.

The tickets were a little too much though. Well, I could have saved $10. However, I wanted to accompany my dear friend Megan to the main stage to see her one of favourite anime and voice actors being featured. So $23 it is.

There is another stage area that is open to the rest of the crowd where a couple of DJs and different performers did their thing. And I have to say, when it comes to dancing for J-pop, they go extremely hardcore. In the ten minutes or so watching a group called ARSMAGNA on the niconico stage, they were throwing moves all over the place at such speed I was feeling drained just seeing them going all out. Needless to say, the crowd’s energy hit the roof. Enthusiasm is indeed contagious.

Crazy performers, but I love it

It is not an anime fest without the cosplay party! Cosplay is such a fascinating hobby to blur the lines between fantasy and reality. It’s giving a character non-existent in our world the chance to be real.

And the professionals do a darn good job at making this happen.

P1160130DSC_2536 DSC_2537DSC_2474 DSC_2526   P1160142P1160122 P1160155DSC_2542

DSC_2632

Popular cosplayers Yuegene, Kaname and Reika. Silly friend Megan fangirling so hard over them. (Kudos to her for helping photograph over half of the cosplayers featured here)

You don’t have to be an expert to enjoy cosplay. At AFA 2014, I’ve seen many different levels of it. There was a group of four wearing Payday masks, a girl who threw a cardboard box designed to look like Minecraft’s Steve on her head, a strange-looking chicken holding a sign and there was even a man wearing a sick custom-made Ironman suit.

Terrible crowds and costly tickets aside…

This is just the ticketing area.

Would I go for another convention? Yes, definitely! Such events are haven for people with similar interests to geek out and act ridiculous without getting judged for it. It’s also one of the few places to get high-quality merchandise. I got myself quite a huge haul.

A Super Smash Bros tee, Pokemon postcards, art prints, free stuff and an adorable Baymax pin badge

💸 💸 💸 But no regrets, buying the tee was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in my life.

On a side note, I finally bought my first camera! It’s a Nikon D3200. Caught it on discount in a nearby mall and grabbed it. My initial aim was to get a Fujifilm FinePix HS50EXR but it was out of stock. I didn’t want to get it online either because I don’t feel very comfortable purchasing items above $100.

Nevertheless, thank you Adrian and his lovely followers for helping me out in choosing a camera! I am excited to try it out soon, some time after ‘ hell week’. Maybe I’ll bring it to my next convention, if I can afford the tickets. 😁

6 thoughts on “Anime wonderland?

  1. I’ve been to a number of conventions lately too, two last year and three this year. The biggest one I went to was in London for the Dr Who 50th convention. I can’t even imagine the crowds an anime convention in asia would pull in! I hate crowds in conventions and how much things cost but I absolutely love the atmosphere and being surrounded by fellow geeks and fans. I haven’t watched as much anime as I would have liked but I still would happily attend an anime event. There’s just something about it I love! As for cosplay, I adore looking at all the costumes and would love to make one but I have very little to no skill and wouldn’t have a clue where to start!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no experience in cosplay as well. It is an expensive hobby too, so it is way out of my league!

      As for the crowds, it was terrible. Moving from booth to booth took a painfully long long time. But I agree with you, I will still happily go for another one 😀

      Like

      • Yes I watched a show called Heroes of Cosplay and the amount of work and money that goes into it is insane. Ugh that sounds horrible. One of the conventions I went to only had one ATM so the queue was insane. What made it worse was that it was right beside the cafe and the toilets so you didn’t really know which queue was which!

        Like

        • It would be hilarious if you spent 10 minutes queueing for the ATM only to find out you were in the queue for the toilets😂 For me, it’s better to be paranoid and bring cash in excess than wasting time waiting in line.

          Like

          • Ugh I know, we weren’t prepared for it as it was our first comic-con. But at least we learned from it and brought extra cash for the next one 🙂

            Like

Leave a Reply

