Where my mind takes me

Life can be harsh at times. The stress of having to deal with them simply accumulates over time. It becomes this imaginary mountain of problems with only one stick supporting the entire structure. The stick is bound to snap one day, and your whole world comes crumbling down.

I am grateful, yet at the same time worried that I didn’t face this kind of hell so far. Will I be strong enough? Whenever I feel the burden becomes increasingly heavy, I escape into my thoughts. I talk to myself, try to get another perspective on things and assure myself that in the future, I will look back at this and laugh. The mind is fickle, if you convince it enough, chances are it will change to how you want it to be.

If the above fails to work, I daydream. It sounds ridiculous but I really get lost in my imagination. For that brief window of time, the world around me fades away. I forget about everything. I just focus on where my mind takes me. Perhaps depending on this so much is the reason why I constantly space out.

Physically, my room is my haven. When it’s dark, I grab my favourite blanket, close the windows, switch on the air-conditioner and night-light and plug in my earphones. The solitude is extremely comforting. If there is a breeze, I just open my windows, stare out into the night and feel the gentle wind caress my cheeks. If I am looking for a perk-me-up, I lay on my bed and play games or watch anime.

My family plays an important role in my life too. I know that if I ever need someone to talk to, my loving parents and my ‘best friend’ sister will always be there for me. I am so thankful, and I love them so much ❤️.

Leave a Reply

