I actually watched a basketball anime?

I made it through the semester! One more exam to go and we’re officially done with our first year! I’m not sure if it’s because I have grown accustomed to the fact that a huge part of our grades rely on assignments, but I am facing an old problem while preparing for the exam – procrastination.

I know the stakes are considerably high, yet I can’t seem to motivate myself to do anything. I can hear my inner voice nagging at me as I type this. I really lack self-discipline when it comes to doing individual work I dislike.

On a side note, another reason for my laziness is probably my obsession with Kuroko no Basket. I heard a lot about this anime in the past, but I brushed it off because I couldn’t picture basketball and anime together. Just three days ago, I decided to give it a chance out of boredom. Now? I blazed through the first two seasons with a combined total of 50 episodes in two days. Well… crap.

I am a fan of action anime. I love anything that gets my brain hyped up (with the exception of the mecha genre, but who knows?). Kuroko no Basket is the epitome of adrenaline-pumped action. I am still relatively new to anime, but I have never seen one that is packed with excitement episode after episode. But Kuroko no Basket did it. Yeah, the whole game is pretty BS in real life but hey, it’s fun to watch.

Of course, my favourite scene had to be this one:

Imagine if all these effects and slow-motion scenes happened in real life.

And my favourite character is not the two above, but the main protagonist. It’s surprising to me, since I tend to go for the side characters more often. And no, it’s not because he looks cute or his hair is blue. He’s simply amazing to watch on the basketball court.

Kuroko Tetsuya

I’m glad I gave this anime a shot. I don’t want to admit it but for me, it did spark a tiny bit of interest in basketball. Lane-up, ankle-breaking, alley oop, fadeaway, hook shots and scoop shots. Man, all these basketball terms. The show is currently in its third season. Sadly, I have to wait a week for the next new episode…

I thought about doing a review on this. However, since this anime is already overwhelmingly popular (I will probably be biased too), I’ll just leave it at my slight ‘spazzing’. 😅

5 thoughts on “I actually watched a basketball anime?

Leave a Reply

