Status

Life Update: Interviews, Marvel Madness

So yes, I haven’t posted anything in 14 days? Year 2 is one hell of a ride, and it’s only the 4th week of the semester.

Trust me, it’s not that bad. Really! The modules are cool, save for a few dry theories. However (there’s always a ‘however, isn’t there), this one frustrating issue haunts my everyday thoughts.

Interviews.

Now don’t get me wrong here. I have nothing against interviews, I even find a couple of them enjoyable. The pain in the neck comes from the fact that I am just a student. Throw me a radio assignment with a special guest, yes, I’ll do my best. But I don’t have the resources, the publicity and incentives to offer people. All I have are my persuasion skills, which are a little bit on the ‘meh’ side.

If the module in question is Feature Writing, it’s not as tough. As long as they can spare me 30 minutes, I can adjust my schedule to fit the interviewees, I can travel an hour to meet up, no problemo. But what if your guest has to come down personally to your school for a mere 15 minutes, with no benefits whatsoever (not counting reimbursement for travel fares and buying the lunch)? I’m not one with connections either. There’s very little for me to count on.

The assignment is still a few months away, so thankfully I don’t have to stress over it at the moment. Sadly, I can’t shake off this nagging feeling. [continues to worry]

Moving on to something more light-hearted, I went to catch ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ recently with some close friends. Note that before watching the movie, I was not a Marvel or Avengers fan. The only reason I went was I grew curious (and a little hyped) after reading movie mag F***. It’s one of those days where your curiosity opens up a whole new world and you’re thinking, “Why didn’t I know about this sooner?”

I became hooked.

For the past week, I intensely viewed as many Marvel movies as I could. School held me back, but I managed to catch up on the entire Phase 1 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (just finished ‘The Avengers’ a few hours ago). Phew, everything has been great so far.

Also, I’ll like to mention my favourite character is Thor. I was thoroughly entertained by his godly and silly behaviour in ‘Thor’. He did shed his initial arrogance, but I liked that he kept his confidence and sense of humour. Not to mention his Mjolnir is amazing? And he’s got the looks. [grins]

Thor derp

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have another entire phase of movies to watch.

Leave a Reply

