My Personal Obsession

I need to know if anyone out there feels the same way as me.

Whenever you play a game, or write a story, or fantasise about incredible tales within the realms of imagination, do you have the urge to name your characters differently?

By ‘different’, I mean a few things. The spelling has to be different (this is a given). Then, this is where my obsession kicks in. I cannot stand it if the first letter of one character’s name is the same as another. The last syllable of each name should not share similar pronunciation either.

Screenshot of virtual cat game, Nekoatsume. The only thing I'm unable to change is the date.

Screenshot of virtual cat game, Nekoatsume. The only thing I’m unable to change is the date.

It’s ridiculous, I know. And it doesn’t stop here. In the last Pokemon game I played (Platinum?), I felt so so so so uneasy when two Pokemon in my main party had the same nature, or the same description, or are accidentally captured with the same type of Pokeball. Good god, I even get all uncomfortable when they share the same colour.

If I cannot change it, then I’ll force myself to make everything the same. To get that uniformed look, you know? So I keep specific areas different, and others the same. It’s just… balanced.

I grabbed a random picture off Google. There is so much in this picture that I just- UGHHH. Why are they all not lowercased? Why did this dude not nickname his last three Pokemon and left it as they originally were? Why are they all not holding items? Why is Wolf grey-ish like LAIRON?

I would be okay if this if I did not know that the three capitalised names are their original names and not nicknames. Also the capitalisation for only some names annoy the hell out of me.

So much annoyance in one picture

Crap, I’m so damn weird.

Leave a Reply

