GreenDot (WestGate)

I don’t take healthy eating seriously. I can appreciate it, but I don’t want to be restricted by concerns like calculating the calories in a Sausage McMuffin. As long as it tastes good, I’ll take it. If it’s healthy, it’s a bonus. So I’ll like to take this chance to recommend GreenDot.

I would have never ever stepped foot into the aforementioned restaurant if it weren’t for my sister’s friend. Like I said, healthy eating isn’t on my top ten priority list. The outlet’s at Westgate in the Jurong East area (I keep mixing up this mall with the JEM mall – they are right next to each other).

The restaurant’s rather small and when we got there during lunch hours, it was fairly packed. The place had a ‘clean’ feel to it. The staff were friendly and greeted us when we entered. We had to go to the counter to place our orders – something I found weird after heading home and searching it up. Other outlets seem to make use of e-menus so I’m wondering why they didn’t implement it in this outlet. Food arrived quickly, for us, it took less than 10 minutes.

They sell a lot of vegetarian dishes in their menu. You can check it out here. My friend highly recommends their noodles and you can pick from three soup bases – tom yum, laksa and herbal. I picked herbal since I’m not into spicy food.

This isn’t for everyone. If you dislike the taste of Chinese herbs, then it’s not worth ordering it. Personally, I liked it. The noodles are chewy and the soup was really rich. They are quite generous with the ingredients too.

Split opinion here – my sister didn’t like the this while I did. Not sure what this is exactly, could be a Konnyaku ball or soya chunk.

I love Tau Pok, it is the best – it soaks up the soup and when you bite into it, you get a burst of herbal goodness. Yum.

FYI, a bowl costs $7.90. I’ll say it’s a good deal. The website recommends this for “cold weathers and lousy moods”. Apparently, it is also good for the heart. Giving this a 3.8/5.

Leave a Reply

